i The library has reached its daily checkout limit. Please add items to your Wishlist and return later to check out.
 Pachinko

Pachinko

Synopsis

A new tour de force from the best-selling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for fans of A Fine Balance and Cutting for Stone.Profoundly moving and gracefully told, Pachinko follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them. Betrayed by her wealthy lover, Sunja finds unexpected salvation when a young tubercular minister offers to marry her and bring her to Japan to start a new life.So begins a sweeping saga of exceptional people in exile from a homeland they never knew and caught in the indifferent arc of history. In Japan, Sunja's family members endure harsh discrimination, catastrophes, and poverty, yet they also encounter great joy as they pursue their passions and rise to meet the challenges this new home presents. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, they are bound together by deep roots as their family faces enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.A Hachette Audio production.

Book Details

Read By

Edition

Unabridged

Length

18 hours 16 minutes

Publisher

Hachette Book Group USA

Released

May 03, 2022

Language

english

ISBN

9781478945499

Age Level

General Adult
)